ISFA Announces Annual Award Winners

The International Surface Fabricators Association (ISFA) announced the winners of its annual awards at the association’s recent virtual annual meeting and conference. The ISFA awards are chosen by association members, and given to those in the industry that stand out as the very best.

Past ISFA President Russ Berry, of ASST in McSherrytown, Pa., was inducted into the ISFA Hall of Fame, joining a long list of esteemed industry professionals. The Hall of Fame Award is given to the individual who has, in the course of his/her career, made significant contributions to the decorative surfacing industry, and has demonstrated leadership and commitment to the ideals of ISFA. Having won several past ISFA Awards, Russ Berry is truly an inspiration to all fabricators. He has repeatedly given of his time and expertise to ISFA and its members, and his approach to business, along with his innovative creativity, sets him apart from all others. Russ’ work at ASST has elevated the fabrication community through showcasing solid surface design capability in complex high-end, and highly visible projects. Russ has served as a past ISFA President, has hosted ISFA events, and he serves as a fine example to the entire industry.

The other honored winners are:

The Fabricator of the Year Award was given to world-class fabricator The Countertop Factory Midwest in Chicago. The Fabricator of the Year is awarded to a fabricator member company that in the past year has best exemplified the ISFA ideals of quality, innovation, character and exemplary service to ISFA and/or the decorative surfacing industry, with overall excellence. The Countertop Factory Midwest is a company that is known for its generous support and mentorship of other fabricators in the industry. Owners Geoffrey Gran and Bill Heuer are always willing to share their knowledge and expertise around sales, fabrication and general business. They are consistently helping the industry grow and improve, and their business is a true example of fabricators helping fabricators, which is the cornerstone of ISFA.

The Associate of the Year Award is given to an associate member company that in the past year has best exemplified the role of servicing the needs of fabricator member companies, and that has best supported ISFA in all activities. The 2020 winner is Moraware, a maker of software specifically designed for countertop fabricators. The company is not only a supportive partner of ISFA’s efforts to educate the industry, but also through other outlets in surfacing/countertop realm as well as its own independent programs. In addition to offering highly regarded products, it also provides industry information in numerous areas, such as marketing, networking, technology integration and various others to serve fabricators well beyond just its product offerings. And, it has done so for many years.

The Innovator Award is for the member firm or individual who goes outside the box to create a product or system that enhances the life or elevates the role of the surface fabricator. The 2020 Winner is SPEEDlabel®. This small invention designed for countertop fabricators, by fabricators, has had a significant impact on the countertop industry. SPEEDlabel is a custom labeling solution allowing fabricators to track countertops through production. It also helps with quality control by preventing mistakes, helping both large and small shops to be more efficient and profitable. The labels have made it easier for fabricators of all surfaces to reduce chaos and improve shop organization.

The Envision Award is given to the manufacturer member that excels in creating something imaginative and special for the surfacing industry. The 2020 winner is INEOS. The company’s composites continue to drive innovation in the resin space. It has created bio-based resins that allow quartz companies to mitigate petroleum use and create more sustainable products. The resins also allow for flat, strong and consistent slabs.

You may also be interested in this article: ISFA Launches Safe Solid Surface Education Initiative