Neolith Announces Design Competition Winners

NEOLITH® has announced the winning projects of the 6th Edition of its annual Design Competitions.

The My Neolith Project focuses on architects, rewarding the best facade projects made with Neolith.

National Edition:

Winning Project: A House in Herrera de Camargo
Architect: Agustín Montes Gaisan – MMIT Arquitectos
Location: Herrera de Camargo, Cantabria

A residential facade that stands out due to the well-marked volumetry through the use of two different colors – Neolith® Nero and Avorio. A single-family home featuring straight lines and a minimalist style where Neolith® was applied in multi-format for the exterior facade cladding as well as the roof.

International Edition:

Winning Project: Sangbong Lee Building
Architects:Yoon-Gyu Jang, Chang-hoon Shim – UnSangDong Architects
Location: Seoul, South Korea

The contemporary-style Sangbong Lee tower is situated between two average buildings aiming to reflect an imbalance to create the feeling of something new and unexpected. Completely cladded in Neolith® Arctic White, this curved and framed cross-section facade creates boundaries and ambiguous spaces. One interesting fact is that the architects spent nearly a year modelling the facade in 3D to create a life-size mock-up and eight scale models throughout the process.

The Top Fabricator award recognizes the works of fabricators who elaborate technically complex projects, placing no limit to the possibilities offered by the Sintered Stone.

Winning Project: Flare of Frankfurt
Fabricator: Lithodecor
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Flare of Frankfurt is a building with personality and a three-dimensional angular design in the facade panels. Neolith® Arctic White was used for the cladding with custom-cut sandwich-assembled slabs. This structure was first prefabricated at the shop and then installed with very high precision on site using the Airtech System technique patented by Lithodecor.

You may also be interested in this article about the 2020 Design Inspiration Award Winners.