ISFA Announces Annual Award Winners

The International Surface Fabricators Association (ISFA) announced the winners of its annual awards at the association’s annual meeting and conference recently held in Cancun, Mexico. The ISFA awards are chosen by association members, and given to industry professionals that stand out as the very best.

jon olson
Hall of Fame Inductee Jon Olson

Industry Veteran Jon Olson was inducted into the ISFA Hall of Fame, joining a long list of esteemed industry professionals. The Hall of Fame Award is given to the individual who has, in the course of his/her career, made significant contributions to the decorative surfacing industry, and has demonstrated leadership and commitment to the ideals of ISFA. Olson was recognized for his significant contributions to the industry knowledge base and for his understanding and awareness of surfacing materials such as solid surface and quartz. Through his article writing for several industry magazines, his social media outreach, speaking engagements and his various roles in the industry, from fabricator to manufacturer representative to associate at a well know material distributor, Olson has earned his place in the ISFA Hall of Fame.

The 2016 Fabricator of the Year Award was given to Augie Chavez of GECKO SSS in San Antonio, Texas. The Fabricator of the Year is awarded to an individual of a fabricator member company that in the past year has best demonstrated the ISFA ideals of quality, innovation, character and exemplary service to ISFA and/or the decorative surfacing industry. Chavez earned the award for building a successful commercial fabrication business from the ground up, while maintaining a commitment to social standards, such as environmentally friendly practices and training, as well as educating and respecting the company’s staff.

The Associate of the Year Award is given to an associate member company that in the past year has best exemplified the role of servicing the needs of fabricator member companies, and who has best supported ISFA in all activities. This year’s winner is Moraware for going out of its way to expand the amount of solid information available to fabricators through its innovative newsletter, blog, podcast (StoneTalk) and its approach to marketing that works to improve industry standards and quality.

The Innovator Award is for the member firm or individual who goes outside the box to create a product or system that enhances the life or elevates the role of the surface fabricator. The 2016 Winner is ArtCor for using its experience and innovative solid surface design and fabrication techniques in Russia to advance the scope and possibilities for the use of solid surface material around the world.

The Envision Award is given to the manufacturer member that excels in creating something imaginative and special for the surfacing industry. The 2016 Winner is Cosentino for developing Dekton Large Format Tile, which allows traditional countertop fabricators to expand into flooring with a durable, high quality product that can be used in both interior and exterior applications.

You may also be interested in this article about Coverings seeking submissions for the 2017 CID Awards.

%d bloggers like this: